Log in to save your favorite Housing List

Don’t miss the apartments you like!

Sign in later

4 Basic Types Of Section 8 Programs You Need To Know

Section 8 programs, also known as Housing Choice Voucher programs, provide low-income families or individuals with housing assistance in paying for rent. There are four basic types of Section 8 programs:

1. Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher (HCV)

Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) is a rental assistance program funded by the federal government. The program allows eligible families to receive a voucher that they can use to pay a portion of their rent to a private landlord. The amount of the voucher is determined based on the family's income and local rental market conditions.

4 Basic Types Of Section 8 Programs You Need To Know_1

More On This Topic

  • how-to-check-your-application-status-after-applying-for-section-8
    How To Check Your Application Status After Applying For Section 8

    The most important thing after applying for Section 8 is tracking the application's progress. Here are 3 things you can do in order to check your waiting list status.

  • what-is-section-8-investigation
    What Is Section 8 Investigation

    In the Section 8 housing program, if there is any allegation of fraud, waste and abuse, an investigation will be then carried out. Let's check out together who is responsible for the investigation and what kind of complaints will be handled.

  • how-to-meet-the-requirements-for-section-8-yearly-inspections
    How To Meet The Requirements For Section 8 Yearly Inspections

    Section 8 performs inspections annually to each household and property. Here are the requirements tenants must meet to stay eligible.


Subscribe to get housing assistance

Will Remind You When Updated

arrow Click Allow to get the latest housing information for free!